Skip to content

Do You Believe in Magic?

November 29, 2016

lib-kids-rmI believe in magic. (I believe in the Tooth Fairy too, but that’s another story.) I believe in magic the same way I believe that people are inherently decent and that eating a little chocolate every day is good for you. I believe in this because I have hope. And what is hope, really, but the belief of something better.

Maybe I’m feeling hopeful today because I’m writing from where I first fell in love with magic: the Centerville Public Library. As a child, books took me to places where dogs grew to be the size of houses and where young girls wore mismatched socks and grew up to be witches. I was six and my world included my parents and my baby sister Jackie. It was a world in which newspapers were delivered to your front door, where markets weren’t super, and where Fridays were sunny not black.

lib door.jpgSitting here now in this same room, in the back of the newly renovated library, (with free wifi and free coffee!) surrounded by books, the sun shining through a large bay window overlooking Four Seas Ice Cream, I realize this is not only the place where I learned to read, but where I felt hopeful about the future.

Maybe that is why many of my childhood friends have returned to Cape Cod. Because life out there, on the other side of the bridge, filled with big cities and big lights and big shots, lacks that homespun feeling. But here, in this quaint little town, remain glimpses of that past world. And it seems that now, more than ever, hope is what we could use a little more of.

I may no longer be the little girl with pigtails and scraped knees curled on a beanbag chair reading about Dorrie the Little Witch, however this room still makes me feel hopeful. And that, to me, is real magic.

From → Uncategorized

8 Comments
  1. Felice, I find it eerie that you wrote this yesterday. I wrote an uncannily similar post yesterday. It must be something in the air. By the way, I’m sure you don’t remember me, but my husband and I met you at the Tiny House festival in Florida a couple of weeks ago. You are an inspiration, and I am enjoying reading your books. I hope you will check out my blog. It’s my first attempt into the cyber world, so please try not to judge too much. Anyway, I wish you peace, joy, and success in all your ventures. – Susan Allen Lifewhatatrip.wordpress.com

  2. Marilyn permalink

    Love this story! See you soon, Hugs, Marilyn 👍😘

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  3. Tom Olverson permalink

    Felice, it seems that not just hope but community as well can cure a lot of 21st century ills.
    Great piece, as usual!

  4. danaboll permalink

    Love the Cape post!

  5. Joe permalink

    A great bit nostalgia and comfort with your stories as always, It is one thing I always liked about your writings. The little part I liked when I walked into a city or a town library was the smell of books along with the polished wooden floors. What a welcome the was.

  6. Richard Aberson permalink

    There sure has to be some magic in the way you convey your thoughts and feelings.

  7. Auntie M permalink

    I TOO LEARNED TO READ & LOVE BOOKS IN A BIG OVERSTUFFED CHAIR IN A SMALL HOMETOWN LIBRARY OVERLOOKING THE OCEAN IN HULL, MA. IT WAS A BOOK ABOUT A LITTLE MOUSE. MY DAD GOT ME A LIBRARY CARD THAT NIGHT & I WAS ABLE TO TAKE THAT BOOK HOME & READ IT EVERY DAY UNTIL IT HAD TO BE RETURNED & I COULD GET ANOTHER. TO THIS DAY, NOTHING FEELS BETTER THAN CURLING UP WITH A GOOD (NOW) NOOK

  8. Lorraine Dunnett permalink

    Wonderful post….. love it!
    CENTERVILLE is a wonderful
    Place to grow up AND to be able to rerreturn and revisit. Memories
    Are forever…

Leave a comment