Skip to content

Let Go, Let Good(will)

November 16, 2016

loafersAdmit it, you still wear those old comfy socks with the heel worn through, ignoring the new pair with the tags still on it, right? Or maybe it’s your favorite ripped jeans, that ratty T-shirt (you know, the one from college) or even a piece of warped Tupperware you just can’t part with.

“It’s still good,” you tell yourself as you go through contortions trying to get the lid on. I know. I’ve done this too. Last summer I wore ragged loafers even though I bought a new pair. So I made a deal with myself: I could wear the old, but had to toss them on Labor Day. And I did.

We’re all guilty of holding on to stuff way past its prime, yet there’s a difference between old socks and a family heirloom. Many of us have things in the home that once belonged to a loved one, now passed, but keep boxed up in a closet or down in the basement. I bet your deceased relative wouldn’t like that. It’s hard to part with these objects, but if they’re not being used, why keep them? Maybe there’s another relative, a friend or even a stranger who would use it, which will make you feel good about giving it away.

As for those items you just cannot part with, well, you might as well use and value them. Like your grandmother’s dish set. We often eat off IKEA dishes everyday while Nana’s china collects dust in the cabinet. Why aren’t we using it? Afraid we’ll break one? We could, but it’s only a dish. The pleasure of using the item is worth the risk. The plate is NOT your grandmother; it’s the food she taught you to cook that’s ON the plate that represents her best.

As for those old socks? Wear them next week on Thanksgiving. Then after the meal, when you’re sitting on the couch in a food coma, look down and thank them for the comfort they’ve brought you. Then, assuming you can reach your feet, toss ‘em and start wearing a new pair.

Happy Thanksgiving!

From → Uncategorized

8 Comments
  1. Leslie Hochstein permalink

    So happy to get this in the midst of all the politics I’ve been obsessing over! 😃

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Tracey permalink

    Great article, Felice. Personally, I had to let go of a lot of things when I moved across from NY to LA. Making decisions to let go of things is not easy. Take yesterday for example, when my cleaning lady came to clean, I emptied all the drawers and cupboards. I asked her to clean everything as if I were moving. It gave me a chance to little by little go through things before placing them back in the cupboards. As for clothes, I have started to realize that some clothes loose their shape and good looks so they have to be replaced. And shoes…wearing nice shoes is important…I think. It’s good to wear comfortable shoes and good shoes put the whole look together. Shoes, handbags, everything… Lastly, it was my mother’s culture to keep the fine china in the china cabinet and only use it on very special occasions. As for me, I love my Lennox china and I use it every day! I don’t think it’s not superficial to have and “use” a few nice things. As always, I certainly can relate to your article!

  3. Well said girl! I feel so much better when I go through my stuff, and if I haven’t worn/used it in the last few months to a year, I either toss it, donate it, or consign it.

  4. Michael Gnat permalink

    Dear Felice:

    Re old clothes, do you known this Donovan song?

    “I Love My Shirt” https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=voGckb0gAfc

    Best, MichaelG

    >

  5. Tom Olverson permalink

    But, Felice, I love those socks (in my case it’s really old, ratty t-shirts). Ok- I’ll try to give up one of my beloved ratty t-shirts right after Thanksgiving but no promises.

  6. Auntie M permalink

    Are you using Nana’s dishes??? You are right, the only way I could part with them was to pass them on to you. See you on Thursday for the Great Feast of family, fun & food,

  7. Marilyn permalink

    Great blog! I always wear the old ones with the holes and still buy new ones that sit in my drawer. Leaving for Florida in a couple of weeks, maybe you’ll be there. I hope. Regards to the family, Marilyn 😘 Happy Thanksgiving!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  8. Richard Aberson permalink

    We hardly use shoes in south Florida cause we drive everywhere, even from the living room to the bedroom.

Leave a Reply

