Skip to content

Surprise Visits Bring Happiness

May 19, 2020

dad thumbs upIn 1981, I went to Camp Milbrook, the Larry Bird sleepaway basketball camp in Massachusetts for a month. I loved basketball. I loved Larry Bird. I hated the camp. The kids were mean, we mostly did gymnastics, and we only got to meet Larry once.

One day, more than halfway into my stay, I was walking alone, back to my barrack, when I saw what looked like the front of my dad’s car. I’d recognize the nose of that Peugeot anywhere. Was it a mirage? No. It was him! He had stopped on his way home to Cape Cod from court in Boston, taking the chance at possibly seeing me. I ran to his car, my legs pumping fast, my arms spread wide. I leapt the last few feet and landed into his waiting arms.

“Are you here to take me home?” I asked, tears filling my eyes.

“No, sweetheart.” He put me back down on the ground. “But you’ve only got eight more days. You can do it.” Even though the visit lasted only a few minutes, I’d never been happier in my life.

Fast forward almost 40 years.

My mom and I drove up to the Spaulding Rehabilitation Hospital Cape Cod in Sandwich, parked in the vast lot, and walked toward the entrance, scanning every window on the second floor. Which one was it? Then a tap on the glass. My eyes zoomed around until they landed on a nurse, her face covered with a mask. She waved us over. A few seconds went by and then my dad appeared! We waved. He waved. We blew kisses. He blew kisses. We gestured from our hearts, and he did too. The visit lasted only a few minutes. How much can you say between glass? Before we turned to walk back to our car, I held up my hand, fingers splayed. “Only five more days, dad.” I mouthed. “You can do it.” He nodded and gave the thumbs up. He was happy to see us. I knew exactly how he felt.

Stay safe.

Felice

https://felicecohen.com

 

From → Uncategorized

12 Comments
  1. Roger J Bass permalink

    What a lovely description! These are such difficult times. thanks. For sharing this. Roger

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. Julie Bernstein permalink

    Refuah Shelema to your dad!

  3. naomi nomikos permalink

    Felice Dear, How lovely to hear from you. Jimmy and I love basket ball as well and naturally Bird. We watch Bird on UTUBE trash talking. I have really enjoyed the Last Dance have you? Stay Safe, Naomi

    >

  4. Deborah Golden permalink

    Hey Felice! That was a moving account of your treasured family memories, past and present.
    Lots of love being sent for your Dad’s recovery. I am hoping that it isn’t from Covid-19, but any recovery is a good recovery. I am sending an invisible blanket of safety for you and your family. 🧡💚❤💙💜

  5. Rosalie permalink

    Hoping your dear dad will be ok!

    I still cherish the walk he and I went on together in ZION. He’s a mensch.

    Rosalie E. Olson

    >

  6. Tere permalink

    Oh my goodness, even though I read this before, each time I read it I am bawling!! It’s such a sweet story and your dad, I know, can’t wait to be with you all. Such a beautiful story, Felice.

  7. Catherine Fredman permalink

    What a lovely post! Hoping your dad recovers soon.

  8. Surprising in itself, as I honestly had no idea where it was going, until the beautiful parallels arrived. Short, simple, sweet, and moving. Love to you & yours, MG

  9. Lawrence Olin permalink

    Such a beautiful story, Felice.

  10. Always great to read your stories keep them coming I love them

  11. Ann Solomon-Schwartz permalink

    Our thoughts are with you. Thank you for keeping us in the loop1 love, Ann and Mick >

  12. Madalyn Hillis-Dineen permalink

    Praying for a complete recovery for Richard… love to your mom…

    Madalyn Hillis-Dineen

    Felice Cohen wrote: > WordPress.com > Felice Cohen posted: “In 1981, I went to Camp Milbrook, the Larry Bird sleepaway basketball camp in Massachusetts for > a month. I loved basketball. I loved Larry Bird. I hated the camp. The kids were mean, we mostly did gymnastics, and > we only got to meet Larry once. One day, ” >

Leave a comment