Skip to content

Notes from a Cape Cod Beach

September 5, 2017

Back when I was in college, a handful of columnists for the Massachusetts Daily Collegian took turns writing the column “Notes from the Campus Center Basement.” The title came from the fact the newsroom was in the Campus Center basement. (We were a literal bunch). These articles were a laundry list of topics instead of one cohesive-themed op/ed. After taking this summer off from writing my blog, I decided to start back up by going back to my roots and writing a “Notes” column. So, without further ado, here are a few highlights from my summer vacation.

That Girl is A Woman Now
paigeSo proud of my niece on her bat mitzvah. Not only did Paige do an amazing job reading directly from the Torah scroll, but she stepped up big time (as did my 10-year-old nephew) helping out after my sister dislocated ligaments in her heel. It may be the Year of the Rooster, but it was the Summer of the Foot. Legs too, apparently, as Paige is now officially taller than I am. Thanks a lot DNA!

Summer Bride
Back in July at a Tiny House Festival in New Paltz, NY, I thought I spotted a famous actor and pointed him out to a friend. “That’s not him,” she said. “What would he be doing here?” Then the man in question approached my table, picked up one of my books and asked, “Are you Felice?” “Yes,” I said. “Are you Mandy Patinkin?” He smiled back and nodded. Only later did I think to have said instead, “No, I’m Inigo Montoya. You killed my father, prepare to die.” But it’s probably just as well. He might not have bought copies of my books had I repeated that line from the Princess Bride. Thanks again Mandy!

Rock On
boxingMy dad took up boxing this summer. I went to watch the first class and ended up helping through all eight weeks. Rock Steady is designed for those with Parkinson’s Disease. Boxing is about fighting and that’s exactly what the workout is intended to do: fight back against the symptoms. The 15 participants came to class eager to hit something. They bonded over squats, combination punches, and walking backwards in a straight line. Each class offered new techniques, and afterwards they left stronger, more confident, and with increased joint flexibility than when they arrived. I got so much out of it myself, I plan on getting certified to teach this fall. Thursday is the last class and I anticipate it to be like the last day of camp—teary goodbyes to newfound summer friends.

Never Settle
car

I bought a new car. Okay, it’s a 2014, but compared to my 2001, it’s new. It’s my third Honda Accord (Yes, I have a type.) I’m excited about the Bluetooth, XM radio, and especially the navigation. No longer will I have to roll down my window and yell out to strangers, “Do you know how to get to X from here?”

September is Not Just for Students
bagFall is in the air. The sunlight has changed, acorns are down, and Halloween paraphernalia is once again on store shelves. That means one thing: back to school. Unless, of course, you’re on the other side of graduation, which means you have other things to look forward to. For me, it’s a chapter in the new global anthology “I Bared My Chest,” a book of personal stories from 21 female authors from around the world. I’m honored to be chosen and look forward to the book’s release in October. To celebrate in style, I bought a new backpack. While transferring my stuff into the new one I felt studentish, that sensation that anything is possible. I guess it takes going back to your roots to remember that.

Happy Fall!

 

From → Uncategorized

13 Comments
  1. Dana Arschin permalink

    great post!! So cool about Mandy – I love him!!!! I heard he’s a really good guy. Glad you had such a nice summer! xoxoxo

  2. Rosalie permalink

    You write beautifully. Glad your dad is doing so well. Please say hello to him from Rosalie. It’s so amazing that he knew all the verses to the Christian hymn, The Old Rugged Cross. We sent it in the drive to Las Vegas. I’ve been a convert to Christianity since the age of 17.

    Fall is the best season. Our summer was full too, and we are on a short trip now, in fact.

    Congratulations too on all your achievements!

    Rosalie E. Olson

    >

  3. Glad you had a great summer. Cool you met Mandy Patinkin. And yes, I have a 2012 Accord. Love it!
    Have a great fall! xo C

  4. Tom Olverson permalink

    Always fun to read your posts, Felice. I thought you would have been holding out for a self-driving car. Congratulations on the chapter in the new book!

  5. emsols@aol.com permalink

    Congrats on the 2014 Honda but it will never Come close to the 1978 CCM super cycle in hunter green. Love your blog and hope to see you soon. Hugs 😘🌹

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  6. Susan Eleftherakis permalink

    HI Felice!
    I love reading about what you are doing and your wonderful observations. I am aware of many of your activites through socia media and also seeing and talking with your Mom. We were so sorry to miss Paige’s Bat MItzvah and I’m happy to read a little bit about that wonderful day here in your blog. I hope Jacki is on the mend! I love what your Dad is doing along with the support of your beautiful amazing family. It is so nice to end the day on this note!

  7. Joe F. permalink

    I was wondering where you were with not writing for awhile. Glad to have you back and enjoyed your collective thoughts in your column. I am presently camping down awaiting Irma to arrive. My fingers are crossed hoping she will miss the Bradenton-St. Pete area. Doesn’t look good though.

  8. james nomikos permalink

    Felice, Welcome back. Good to hear from you. Best, Naomi

  9. Diann B permalink

    Well I’ve been thinking about you & WALA you show up, pictures & all! You’ve continued success Felice, love that.
    With joy, & the possibility of so much more,
    Diann b.

  10. Auntie M permalink

    Loved.looking over your summer!

  11. This is a lovely summer recap. Your Dad taking up boxing is remarkable. I love reading inspirational stories now when the world can sometimes seem pretty bleak. Nice work. Congrats on the book. A new backpack in September is a good marker that it’s time for something fresh now. I’m going to take your lead on that one. Thanks.

  12. richard aberson permalink

    Congrats as a 21 author. Who made the 21 selections.  Also never saw a boxer wear glasses before, but I really admire your dad’s guts and daring. From: Felice Cohen To: richardaberson@yahoo.com Sent: Tuesday, September 5, 2017 12:32 PM Subject: [New post] Notes from a Cape Cod Beach #yiv9869217964 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv9869217964 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv9869217964 a.yiv9869217964primaryactionlink:link, #yiv9869217964 a.yiv9869217964primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv9869217964 a.yiv9869217964primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv9869217964 a.yiv9869217964primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv9869217964 WordPress.com | Felice Cohen posted: “Back when I was in college, a handful of columnists for the Massachusetts Daily Collegian took turns writing the column “Notes from the Campus Center Basement.” The title came from the fact the newsroom was in the Campus Center basement. (We were a litera” | |

  13. peter daley permalink

    Saturday 9/23/17–I have met many people in my lifetime,no one like You. Your parents did a great job raising a remarkable,talented person. My favorite male singer is Lenord Cohen- listen to him in my car all the time.Amy Winehouse is my female favorite.Hoping are paths cross in the future–Wishing God keeps an eye on You and guides all that You pursue in Your future.Keep that great smile -say hello to Richard and Shelly- a big hug from Pete Daley

Leave a Reply

