Skip to content

Major Change

June 7, 2017

 

majorAre we destined to stay on the same career path? Can we change on a dime? I love stories of the PR consultant who became an OT. The hedge fund manager who became a dog walker. Even I, once chief of staff to a college president, quit to finish writing my first book. Turns out, I’ve been making major changes all along.

I recently found a poem I wrote my sophomore year of college. After three semesters as a math major I was miserable. I wrote a poem expressing how I felt, then spent an entire weekend reading the course catalog, choosing a new major and subsequently, a new path. Meanwhile, if it didn’t work out, I was sure I could be the next Shel Silverstein.

Rereading this poem 20 years later, I may not have become a poet, but it’s safe to say things worked out okay.

Major Change
I want to change my major
you did not hear my wrong.
I feel so far away
it’s not where I belong.
I don’t enjoy my work
the tests confuse me more
I break out in a sweat
at the mention of my score.

I want to change my major
you did not hear me wrong.
This is a serious statement
not just a poem, rhyme or song.
There is a feeling deep inside
that upsets me all the time.
Could it be an ulcer?
A claim that seems a crime.
If I change my major
The pain may disappear
no more calculus or physics
for the remainder of my years.

I want to change my major
you did not hear me wrong.
Math has turned out not to be
the area in which I feel strong.
What I want to do
is write a play or book
or maybe paint a picture
or design a storybook.

I’ve still got lots of time
as far as for my life.
Not looking for a husband
or to be somebody’s wife.
I like to ride my bike
with my hands create with clay.
Reading is one habit
one of many I can say.

I want to change my major
you did not hear me wrong
I could continue with this poem
but that would take too long.
With my point set down on paper
As clear as I can state
I’ll have to prepared
for with my parents I’ll debate.
“What’s wrong with you and math?
Are you crazy or inept?
You’ll never make no money
and you’ll always be in debt.”
But what they don’t realize
‘case they find my idea funny
is that I have other plans
as for how I’ll make my money.

Now I’ve gone and changed my major
you did not hear me wrong.
With all the work I’ve now to do
I’ll have to say so long.
It’s been a tough decision
one I had to take with stride.
But just the first of many
to have survived I’m filled with pride.

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. electchester permalink

    Hi Felice, I never heard from your mom regarding the apartment in Guildford.  Is it still for sale?

    Thanks Sharon

  2. Roger J Bass permalink

    J Roger

    Roger J. Bass

    Continental Place, Suite # 2402

    2125 First Avenue

    Seattle, WA 98121-2120

    Telephone 206.441.4112

    Mobile 206.650.4424

    rbass@qwestoffice.net

    Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the number of moments that take our breath away.

  3. Tom Olverson permalink

    Yep, Felice, the pivots make life interesting. Well done as usual! By the way, if you have time, can you balance my checkbook?

Leave a Reply

