Skip to content

Reflection

May 2, 2016
closet 1986

Reflection 1986

My parents moved into their current home in 1980. As the oldest I was given first choice to select my bedroom, and I picked the biggest, a sunny 17’ x 17’ room with three windows. But the real bonus was the two enormous walk-in closets. Who knew that decision would eventually shape my career.

 

clothes 1986

Clothes 1986

Inside those closets I honed my organizing skills. Hours were spent removing the contents and putting them back, searching for the perfect configuration. Do sweaters take up less room if they’re rolled up like gym towels? Should jeans be folded in half or in threes? I even built my own shoe cubby from scrap wood in the garage. I’m not sure I ever achieved perfection, yet I don’t think it was perfection I was seeking. I just enjoyed the challenge. I still do.

 

clothes in 2016

Clothes 2016

Nevertheless, with all the changes the closet’s contents have seen over the decades: from tomboy to preppy to girlie to woman, there has remained one constant, one item I still use even today when I walk inside.

The mirror.

There’s nothing special about this mirror. It’s a run of the mill mirror that’s not even attached to the wall, but just leans against it. However it has shown me who I was at every stage of my life. Beginning as a lithe 10 year old who only wore alligator shirts and Levis cords, through awkward adolescence, puberty, the Freshman Fifteen, adulthood and, even today (gulp!) middle age.

relfection 2016

Reflection 2016

But it is not just the physical stages this mirror has seen. It helped prepare me for many a first day of school. It has seen sunburns and chicken pox. It was there when I headed off to college, and it knows my darkest secrets, like where the goods are stored. It helped me get ready for weddings, bar mitzvahs and proms, and watched me perfect my breakdancing moves. The mirror even comforted me the time I sat huddled inside, door closed, soothing a broken heart. It’s been my biggest alley as well as foe, when things fit or were too tight.

Over the years, the reflection has changed immensely, yet I still see that 10-year-old girl, looking back, eyes full of wonder, excited about her future.

From → Uncategorized

10 Comments
  1. Jim Kirstein permalink

    Is that bedroom about the size of your current place?

  2. Isn’t it amazing how inanimate objects can become our best friends? I have an old oak desk that has seen me through a multitude of life changes, good and bad.

  3. Love your writings, Felice. Thank you for sharing

  4. Tom Olverson permalink

    Yep, those mirrors don’t lie. It sounds like this one helps you remember. As always, wonderful post, Felice!

  5. Joe F. permalink

    Here’s, wishing that you be able to stand in front of that 50 years from now, knowing that you have accomplished all the phases of a lifetime. I enjoyed the blog, as always.

  6. richard aberson permalink

    Deep inside we are all just children because those formative years have such a lasting influence throughout life.

  7. Auntie M permalink

    Me too! You are still as cute as ever. Can’t wait for you to see what I did in my new closet. I was schooled by the best!

  8. Jane permalink

    felice, per usual….love your posts…always refreshing if reflecting…someone like me could use your help, seriously!

  9. I see her too, honey! And boy does she shine.💜🎪🎸

Leave a Reply

