Skip to content

Invest in Yourself

October 14, 2015
Before...

Before…

A few new clients have contacted me lately, desperate to rid their homes of the clutter that has them imprisoned inside. One in particular, a married mother of two toddlers, called me in dire straits.

“There’s stuff everywhere,” she said. “Toys, luggage, linens, laundry, shoes, paper. I’m at my wit’s end. Can you help?”

Of course I can help. I’ve been helping for over 25 years. I’m fast and efficient, but I don’t come cheap.

“That’s a lot for something I can do myself,” she said. “So why haven’t you done it?” I asked gently. After a pause, she said, “Because I’m too overwhelmed.”

Which is why she called a professional. I look at a mountain of stuff and plan an attack strategy: what gets tossed, kept, grouped together and where it belongs.

The mother of two hired me for four hours as a trial run. I went downtown to her spacious two-bedroom loft and after four hours whirling around their million-dollar home, I made a substantial dent. Needless to say, when the four hours were up, the client hired me back.

...After

…After

What I’m always curious about are clients who say they cannot afford me yet one look around their homes and I know the piles of stuff (some with price tags still on it), didn’t just appear; they were bought. And that cost far outweighs my fee to organize it. Some people put more value on tangible items, like pocketbooks and vases, rather than on the quality of their lives. And that’s okay. Everyone’s entitled to spend their money how they like. But in some cases, like a home with not one surface uncovered (including chairs and couches), what you cannot afford is NOT getting the help you need. Just like how a bankruptcy attorney can free you of debt, a professional organizer can free you from the chokehold of your stuff.

From → Uncategorized

9 Comments
  1. Meredith Cohen permalink

    Great article!! Why so many freakin towels!!! ??

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. Tom Olverson permalink

    I think stuff obscures the value of experience. Well done, Felice!

  3. Thomas Evans permalink

    This REALLY on target!!!

    🙂

    >

  4. Alexis Fishman permalink

    excellent!

  5. Dana Arschin permalink

    Nice work!!

  6. marcia.boland@verizon.net permalink

    This is a model for all my new closets. You would be proud at how many times I said “ba bye.”

  7. It’s always difficult for we organized people to understand the disorganization of others, but it feels so good when they finally agree to accept help, and like the results.

  8. Richard Aberson permalink

    You’re sort of a doctor for those who have what is called affluencia.

  9. Tracey permalink

    Hi Felice, I can most certainly relate to exactly what you are saying! After moving from NYC to CA a year ago, I opened my larger closet today looking for a charger for my digital camera (which I suddenly really need)…no luck finding it. However, I got a chance to see all of the things I am holding onto–including size 4 clothing and other things which I have not worn for 3-4 years or longer. I quickly shoved everything back into the closet, as now is the time to deal with it. Somehow, I feel there’s some emotional attachment or an overwhelming feeling that comes with try to deal to “things” in that closet. So true…if one is not dealing it, then paying for professional help makes sense. Less clutter can set one free! Great article, as always! Take care 🙂 Tracey

Leave a Reply

