Skip to content

Life After Tiny

September 3, 2014
felice clip al jazeera Real Money

Click on picture to watch video

“What’s life like after living in a tiny apartment?” asked Duarte Geraldino, correspondent for Al Jazeera America’s Real Money With Ali Velshi, last week in my apartment.

“I have a lot less bruises,” I joked. But the truth is, while I may no longer live “tiny,” I came away from living in those 90 square feet with an appreciation for living large. And I’m not talking about space.

Living in that small studio forced me to cut back on stuff, which as a result taught me that owning less stuff meant fewer hours spent putting that stuff away. I also came to realize that living in a smaller space meant fewer hours cleaning it, not to mention working fewer hours to pay a higher rent. In a nutshell, small space dwellers have more time to do the things they enjoy.

Now that I live in an apartment almost five times larger (though that’s not saying much), I am still living by those same lessons. Sure, I now have a couch and a kitchen, but I have the same amount of stuff that I did in the small apartment. It’s like someone who gets a huge pay increase and continues to live as though they’re making the original salary and saving the extra money. In a sense I’m saving the extra space. For what?

Glad you asked.

In the years I have lived in my new apartment I have had several parties, often filling my (extra) space with over 20 friends and family and never once feeling cramped. At one time living with less was a necessity, now it’s a choice. And I choose friends and family over stuff every time.

From → Uncategorized

8 Comments
  1. Joe permalink

    A good choice…..friends

  2. Marilyn Solomon permalink

    Would love to come to one of your parties! Maybe you will be in Toronto in the near future & spend time with us. Love to the family. 😍

  3. Haha. “A lot less bruises.”

    I think bruises are what I’ll be facing when I move to NYC. The prices mentioned in the beginning of the video scared me a little. Do you have any suggestions/connections for getting an affordable, cozy apartment?

  4. Theresa permalink

    Nice Chief! Well said! 🙂

  5. Albert permalink

    It was nice looking at the videoJust to see you haven’t seen you for a while you look great. But anybody living in Manhattan paying the kind of money they’re paying for the space that they live in is crazy I live in QueensYou have to come out here and see what you could have paying the same or less and owning it Talk you so

  6. Peter & Susan permalink

    So after you told me you were going to be on Al Jazeera last week Peter and I turned it on at 7p and when we saw it was the Ali Velshi show we figured they gave you the wrong time and day since, why would Felice be on “Real Money”? So we switched the channel. Duh. Glad we finally got to see your video!

    Have a good weekend. Ride on… xox s.

  7. We are just in the process of downsizing, at last! It feels good to get rid of all the extra “stuff” and we’re looking forward to having more time and money for what we love best – RV traveling. It’s been difficult though, and just yesterday I wished I could call you up for some help. 🙂 Thanks for your inspiration.

  8. Richard Aberson permalink

    Hey there’s some stuff I can send to you to fill all your extra space.

Leave a Reply

