Skip to content

Cleanliness is Next To Godliness

March 5, 2014

While they weren’t my grandmother’s last words, “Please keep the house as you know I like it,” came in at a close second. Days before she passed, she said this to Yvonne, my grandparents’ home health aide, whose responsibilities include light housekeeping. With all that was running through her mind, my grandmother wanted to make certain that after she was gone her home remained clean. cleaning woman

But she’s not the only one who likes their home spotless. For some, a clean home is a reflection of who they are, for others it’s just their preference. For my grandmother it was both. Plus, I’m sure she wanted it to stay nice for my grandfather.

While I can live with a dust ball or two (I’ve been known to name them), I do like everything in its place. Before I sit down to write, the dishes need to be cleaned, the bed made and any clothes or paper put away. It also motivates me. By first completing those little tasks, it encourages me to complete the bigger ones. But I’m not just like this at home. I don’t litter, I recycle correctly in my building, and my desk at work (which I share) is left neat when I’m done. It’s consideration for my neighbors.

Which can’t be said for everyone.

I live on the Upper West Side, which I’ve renamed the Upper Back Side, as folks walking their dogs can’t seem to clean up after them. At my gym, certain individuals are incapable of wiping down the machines after sweating all ovdog cleaninger them, and in some of the public restrooms I’ve been in lately, there are women who now think it’s acceptable to go on the seat. I’m not asking people to start lugging Lysol, but it would be nice if folks started picking up after themselves, if not their dogs. I’m sure my grandmother would agree.

From → Uncategorized

6 Comments
  1. Edes Gilbert permalink

    Yes!!! From another grandmother,a hearty yes!!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. marilyn permalink

    I AGREE WITH YOU 100 PERCENT!!
    HOPE YOU ARE WELL!!!

  3. Love this. And so true. It drives me crazy not to have straightened up before I settle down to work, leave the house, or go to sleep. Makes me bananas. And don’t get me started on those who do not scoop up after their dogs.

  4. Deborah Golden permalink

    I pride myself on never being one of those women who leave a public bathroom not fit for use. Unfortunately I often need to use public bathrooms when I travel and it is unbelievable how disgusting women are when it comes to cleaning up after themselves…they don’t!

  5. Albert permalink

    You’re right you are very Neat your home and in your office and I’m the same way. As far as public places go in the United States and in our city it’s terrible. But I found the people overseas who use public bedrooms clean up after themselves and there’s a reason for their they know somebody besides themselves may need to use it here most people after they use ItThey don’t care because they already used it Let The Next person worry about It. Anyway I agree with your hope everything is well.

  6. Love the picture of the dog cleaning up. Any idea how I can get mine to do that?

Leave a Reply

