Skip to content

Change

March 12, 2013

Tomorrow marks the 30th day – in a row – of my hot yoga challenge. With the classes 90 minutes each, that makes the total time I logged sweating it out on the mat a whopping 45 hours. But the actual time I dedicated was two and a half hours a day when you include travel. So we’re talking 75 hours. And here I’ve been gun shy to sign up for a weekly cooking class, not thinking I could commit to seven Tuesdays in a row.Image

But this was different. As much as this was a physical challenge, it was a mental one as well. Unlike a New Year’s resolution I didn’t think of it as losing weight, it was simply to challenge myself to do something every day. I think that was the most important factor as it kept the focus on the challenge, not the results. And honestly, the hardest part was showing up.

While I did this as a way to get through the last few weeks of winter, something happened towards the end of the 30 days. One day in class in the middle of a rather hard pose, the instructor said, as they all do when switching between poses, “Change,” releasing us from the uncomfortable posture. As relief washed over my muscles, I realized that while “change” was what I had been looking forward to, as in the change in season, I had changed too. I didn’t want the 30 days to end. I was loving it.

Completing this 30-day challenge has me wondering about my next 30-day challenge. Will it be to take calcium every day? (Seriously, you’d think it would be easy to remember, but…) Write one letter (on paper!) a day to a different friend? Or maybe it’s to walk five miles a day. The challenges are endless. That’s the exciting part.

While I did promise myself a reward if I accomplished my goal (a summer dress from Athleta), it turns out I’ve already been rewarded. Knowing that I can succeed at anything I put my mind too is priceless. Well, that and seeing my name written on the 30-day challenge board.

What’s your 30-day challenge going to be?

From → Uncategorized

10 Comments
  1. Again, very inspirational. I’ve been wanting to do a 30 day or 40 day challenge for a while now. The most important thing I think to get out of this is the knowing that one can succeed anything one can put it’s mind too. That would be my greatest reward, I think.
    *starts planning one* 🙂

  2. Good for you! Hey, if you are looking for a cooking class partner, let me know! What kind of cooking class?

    • I was thinking of a cooking class to learn the basics and tricks about what spices to use, etc.

      On Tue, Mar 12, 2013 at 12:50 PM, Felice Cohen

  3. Jim Kirstein permalink

    Since you did not want the 30 days to end why not continue?

  4. Jewels permalink

    Was that Bikram yoga? Instead of 30 day challenges I am going for life changes every 30 days. I started with sayng bye- bye to meat. I have the advantage of knowing how it gets to the store and how bad it is for your body, so it’s an easy choice. ;)Then cut way back on the coffee and included more herb teas. Yoga came next and on to juicing. Now Brianna and I go to the gym most everyday. it’s been many months and I don’t miss meat at all. Yoga and the gym have made me feel awesome! The energy is flowing!

    • How awesome! What a great idea. I like the 30-day bites, makes the focus easy and doable. Good for you both. I can’t believe you cut back on coffee, i thought you needed it like air? 🙂 hugs to all. x felice

      On Tue, Mar 12, 2013 at 6:07 PM, Felice Cohen

  5. Kingj17 permalink

    Congrats! Chris King

    Sent from my iPhone

  6. Congrats Felice! You did it! My 30 day challenge will be to do a meditation for at least 10 min or more, every morning! Let’s see what happens.. Sending you lots of love and regards to the family too. Adam has some new surprises if you check Facebook, you will see. Happy Passover xoxo Maxine

    Original Message:

    • I love the 10 minute a day meditation! That’s a great idea. I just checked facebook, but I’m not signed up as friends with him. Is it a baby???? 🙂 Happy passover to you too. x, felice

      On Wed, Mar 13, 2013 at 3:52 PM, Felice Cohen

  7. Tracey Lundberg permalink

    Congratulations, Felice! Very nicely written, too! It was a pleasure taking the Bikram yoga challenge with you. It’s amazing how much of a transformation and accomplishment it was for us, right? I remember one of the teachers saying you can change your life doing this yoga. I thought that was very powerful. Hope to see you in class soon. I’m so proud of you. All the best, your Bikram yoga friend, Tracey

Leave a Reply

