Skip to content

Social Media Lax Social Skilz

August 21, 2012

In this hard-to-find-a-job market, people rely heavily on those they know. The website Linked In was created for this exact purpose. While asking your contacts for help is one of the right ways to find a job, there are plenty of wrong ways. Here’s an example of an email I received last week from someone seeking help with their job search.

Re: (No subject)
hey how are you ? hope all is well . im looking for a job in the city or near there thats related to my career , im going for my masters in social work , was wondering if you know of any jobs ?

Wrong.

First, there’s no subject, second I had to jog my memory just to figure out who this person was. Right before sending this email to “Spamville” I remembered the email address and meeting the woman in Florida last year. She really should have reminded me how we knew each other since we’d only met once and briefly at that. And while she does say what she wants, it’s pretty vague. Messages, whether written or voice, should be detailed, saving everyone time. It’s also obvious she wrote this from a smartphone – which explains, but does not excuse – the dreadful grammar. Lastly, she didn’t even conclude with a thank you.

Coincidentally, the same week I received another request.

Re: Seeking Position
Felice,
I could really use a favor. There is a terrific position that has reopened at X and I thought you might be able to assist by putting in a good word. Let me know how you feel about assisting on this and let’s talk when you have a moment. I have attached my updated resume and I will apply via the proper protocol.
Many thanks.

Right!

I’m all for helping someone land a job. Working through “Who You Know” not only assists the job seeker, but the employer too, since receiving a recommendation through a trusted source benefits them. But in all actuality, how can I recommend someone who lacks basic social graces? Kyle Wiens, CEO of iFixit, wrote the article “I Won’t Hire People Who Use Poor Grammar.” I agree. But I’d also add to that folks who lack basic social skills. In this day and age of “hru” “lol” and “ILBL8,” there’s no excuse for forgetting to say “plz” and “thx.” Or at the very least  😉

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. I know what you mean, Felice, with regard to an astounding lack of social “skilz” that one encounters with simple and basic e-communication efforts. I received this very recently: “That was a refreshing interview to read. Just about all the photo editors who I’ve worked with in the past have taking buy-outs and have moved on to an exotic fishing hole..”.
    It took extensive scrutiny of certain key words for me to figure out that the writer is referencing an online interview that I conducted five years ago with a popular former photo editor turned blogger. On the other hand, Dyslexia is more common than we may think among many individuals who find the rules and concept of syntax to be a struggle. Oh the irony of living in a technologically advanced society.

  2. Iona Passik permalink

    There is nothing common about common courtesy. It seems the more ways we have to communicate, the less we know how to actually communicate. I’m afraid the art of conversation is doomed. People are tethered to their smart phones and use them inappropriately and randomly without regard to anyone ie: during dinner, or taking a Spinning Class. I am saddened by the loss of simple common courtesy, the rudeness, and lack of communication skills people display.

  3. valerie permalink

    OMG, glad I wasn’t your worst example ; ) !!

Leave a Reply

