Skip to content

Eat to your heart’s content

February 14, 2012

If it’s true that the way to your heart is through your stomach, maybe this Valentine’s Day we should love ourselves a little more by taking the time to make what we put into them.

Last week I counted eight people eating a meal as they walked along the street. Including myself. Running from one place to another one night, I stopped at Gourmet Garage to pick up a quick bite to fuel up. And even though it was healthy, eating it while walking up Seventh Avenue negated that fact.

Then I made a promise. After five years of salads, take out, and prepared foods from Fairway heated up in my toaster oven, I now vow to wow my tummy every day with something homemade that I will also take the time to enjoy. One night I made grey sole, the next meatballs from scratch (a first!), then sautéed chicken over quinoa. What has really amazed me is how simple and fun it can be. Sure, there were nights I was tired or had a lot to do and it would have been easier – and faster – to pick up dinner, but now that I have a kitchen (not to mention a mortgage) I have no excuse. So on went the music as I continued learning this new dance.

On Saturday, staring at a leftover chicken carcass, I contacted a recipe resource better than Google.

“Hi Mom. How do I make a chicken soup?”

A few hours later a friend stopped by. “It smells so homey in here!” she declared, and then tasted the soup. “Delicious. What’s in it?” I smiled and said exactly what my Nana Tobey says when asked what’s in her recipes. “Love,” I said. “I made it with love.”

When someone prepares a meal for you – even if it is just a PB&J sandwich – it tastes a whole lot better because they took the time to make it. In our busy lives, it’s easy to say we don’t have time, but really, that’s all we do have, something I’m just now learning. So why not love yourself a little more this Valentine’s Day and take the time to prepare a hearty meal just for you.

 

Happy VD.

From → Uncategorized

6 Comments
  1. Love this I always tell my self I’m gonna cook more, but never do. Thanks for inspiring me! 🙂

  2. Debra permalink

    Felice – you should make your mom’s cold sesme noodles. I have the recipe. And photos from our dinner party of 21 years ago. Enjoy!!!

  3. My brother is the cook in our family. Every time I visit him and his lovely wife Sue he cooks up a storm for us. He actually enjoys it! I prefer reading and writing to cooking, but this is something I try to do to keep healthy food going into my tummy: Make a large bowl of salad greens and cut up vegetables (enough for at least 4 portions) but do not add the dressing or any proteins. When you’re hungry but too tired to prepare anything time consuming, grab a handful of salad from the large bowl in the fridge and toss on a plate or in your favorite bowl. Add some protein (i.e. cheese, chicken or turkey), salad dressing, olives, some slivered almonds and perhaps some cranberries or raisins if you’re not worrying tooooo much about carbs. This makes a delicious quick meal and when you’re tired it’s a gift. Walla! It may not be a hot meal, but it is a feel good solution that’s reasonably healthy and filling. Love your blog Felice.

  4. Felice,
    Another great post! I smiled, nodded in total agreement. 🙂

  5. Diann Buro permalink

    Dear Felice, nothing makes me smile more than a yogini finding her way,
    adding lots, of love,
    Diann b.

  6. danaboll permalink

    so great, felice! i tend to eat healthier when i do this, too. and fish is always super fast and fresh…try salmon cooked in coconut milk with lime and ginger. add curry if you like. -Dana

Leave a Reply

