Skip to content

Gotta go! Gotta go! Gotta go! (Sung to the tune of Let it snow!)

December 20, 2011

Oh the weather outside is frightful
But my new co-op will be delightful
And since I’ve been told, “It’s time to go”
Let my space grow! Let it grow! Let it grow!

Seems four and a half years was quite enough
And the landlord’s attorney was gruff
They weren’t thrilled with the Youtube video
So I was given the ol’ heave ho!

Well I’ve already started packing
And the boxes I’ve been forced into stacking
Finally 90 square feet I did outgrow
So I go! So I go! So I go!

I’m moving with just the clothes on my back
Plus all the totes stacked up on my rack
So with my Shrinky Dink art in tow
I’ll be moving three weeks from tomorrow!

My new one bedroom is really sunny
And having a doorman will feel funny
But no longer living like a Lilliputian with one window
Will indeed raise my status quo!

Soon I’ll be dwelling in 500 square feet
That’s five times bigger I’ll be sure to Tweet
But still my fans they want to know
Have I abandoned living simply and I swear no!

Sure there’s furniture and dishes I’ll be buying
And straight to IKEA is where I’ll do the shmying
Getting glasses, bowls, forks and more cargo
What’ll I do with so much space yet I don’t know!

Once I settle in I’ll be sharing my story
Of any homeowner’s newfound glory
However there’s still the mortgage I’ll owe
Working to get the balance down to zero!

I admit my tiny studio I’ll miss
It’s been an incredible few years of bliss
But like any great moments we know
There they go! There they go! There they go!

I am looking forward to my new place
With a ceiling not so close to my face
And though I hate saying buh-bye to my little burrow
I’m gung ho! I’m gung ho! I’m gung ho!

From → Uncategorized

13 Comments
  1. And so
    You GO
    Girl!!!

  2. Oh MAN! Does that mean your space is available????

  3. Yes, time to go into debt with the rest of us! Congrats on the new place.
    xxx
    Nancy

  4. Anne permalink

    You are a piece of work and extraordinarily talented. Loved your song. Tried singing it to myself but I don’t think I can carry a tune. Some say I am tone deaf but I can sing bass.

  5. Felice, baby! You are something else!!
    Loved your lyrics. Good luck with the move.
    Here’s to ‘stuff’! We all have way too much.
    Love and Happy Holidays from Terry Stocker

  6. Charlotte permalink

    So clever! Good luck!!!

  7. Brad Haschka permalink

    Felice, What a nice way to put it. I am so happy that you got the new place. Will we get to see pixs of your new place? I am so excited for you.
    Brad

  8. Dumpster Diver permalink

    Awesome song-poem! Where’s your new abode located?

  9. marcia boland-wells permalink

    gotta love it! Please start your shopping at my house, I have way too much of everything as you know. xoxxoxoAuntie M

  10. Great news! Now you’ll have room for all of us friends to come and visit???? Let’s see 500 sq ft means how many 2’X6′ sleeping bags? Best wishes and don’t forget we’re supposed to have coffee or a drink sometime when you’re home for more than a weekend.

  11. Ana Golici permalink

    You are a amazing. good luck in your new house, (I owe you one of my works) You are a real survivor.
    Hope to see you soon,
    Love, Ana Golici

    PS I enjoyed the poem very very much

Leave a Reply

